AGENDA

Agenda

La Galerie

June 2nd - July 16th, 2016

Un autre monde dans notre monde – Collectif

Learn more

PROGRAM

TICKETS

Lucien Hervé

Born 1910 in Hódmezővásárhely, Hungary – Died 2007 in Paris, France

“Lucien Hervé is one of the rare photographers to combine humanist philosophy and architectural concepts. High-angle framing, oblique shots, uncluttered composition and a penchant for abstraction characterize a photographic style far removed from that of his contemporaries.

“Photographer Lucien Hervé died in his 97th year on June 26, 2007. Arriving in Paris from his native Hungary in 1929, László Elkán tried his hand at painting, music and fashion before starting work as a photographer for the magazine Marianne. Having been active in the leftwing CGT union and the Communist party, which twice stripped him of his party card, in 1938 and 1947, he quite logically became an early member of the Resistance and the National Movement for Prisoners of War and the Deported, soon after his escape from Hohenstein POW camp. It was then that he adopted the pseudonym Lucien Hervé.

“Close to the French post-war humanist school, whose leading lights included Robert Doisneau and Willy Ronis, Lucien Hervé’s career reached a turning-point in 1949, when he met Le Corbusier and became his official photographer until the architect’s death in 1965. Lucien Hervé was acclaimed as one of the finest photographers of architecture, notably for his beautiful pictures of Chandigarh, Brasilia and Le Thoronet and his subsequent collaborations with Alvar Aalto and Oscar Niemeyer. He also documented the construction of major public works in Paris, from the UNESCO building to the Louvre Pyramid. His later years featured series of photographs of his apartment in Paris. Over his 60-year career, he produced numerous publications and exhibited in galleries and museums across the globe.”

Virginie Chardin

© Lucien Hervé

Available works

Chandigarh, Haute cour, 1955

Gelatin silver print
Vintage
17,2 x 17 cm
Signed on back

ref : HeLu0020

Le Corbusier sur les galets, Roquebrune-sur-Argens, 1952

Gelatin silver print
37,5 x 35,5 cm

ref : HeLu0210

Paris Bords de Seine, 1948

Gelatin silver print
37,5 x 26 cm
Stamped & signed on back

ref : Helu0070

Unité d'habitation Le Corbusier, Marseille, 1953

Gelatin silver print
15 x 18 cm
Stamped & signed on back

ref : HeLu0150

Chandigarh, Haute cour, 1955

Gelatin silver print
Vintage
16,8 x 21,2 cm

ref : HeLu0019

Brazilia, 1961

Gelatin silver print
Vintage
15 x 24 cm
Stamped & signed on back

ref : HeLu0141

Abbaye du Thoronet, France, 1953

Gelatin silver print
27 x 25 cm
Signed on back

ref : HeLu0114

Palais de l'Unesco, 1955

Gelatin silver print
12,5 x 18,5 cm
Signed on back

ref : HeLu0093

Contact

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris

AGENDA

Agenda

La Galerie

14 septembre - 28 octobre 2017

Harmony Korine

En savoir plus

La Galerie

2 juin - 16 juillet 2016

Un autre monde dans notre monde – Collectif

En savoir plus

La Galerie

16 septembre - 22 octobre 2016

Résonances – Claire Chesnier Etienne de Fleurieu

En savoir plus

VOIR TOUTE LA PROGRAMMATION

BILLETERIE

Lucien Hervé

Né en 1910 à Hodmezövasarhely, Hongrie – Décédé en 2007 à Paris, France

« Lucien Hervé est l’un des rares photographes à allier philosophie humaniste et pensée architecturale. Ses cadrages en plongée, ses vues en oblique, un certain dépouillement et une volonté d’abstraction caractérisent un style photographique très différent de celui de ses contemporains.

Le photographe Lucien Hervé a disparu le 26 juin 2007 dans sa 97e année. D’origine hongroise, László Elkán arrive à Paris en 1929. Attiré d’abord par la peinture, la musique et la mode, il commence à photographier en 1938 pour Marianne Magazine. Militant actif à la CGT et au Parti Communiste, dont il est exclu à deux reprises en 1938 et 1947, c’est en cohérence avec ses convictions qu’il rejoint dès 1940, après son évasion du camp de prisonniers de Hohenstein, les rangs de la Résistance et du Mouvement national des prisonniers de guerre et déportés, sous le pseudonyme de Lucien Hervé. 

Proche de l’école humaniste française d’après guerre, dont font également partie Robert Doisneau et Willy Ronis, la carrière de Lucien Hervé prend un tournant décisif après sa rencontre avec Le Corbusier en 1949. Photographe attitré de l’architecte jusqu’au décès de ce dernier en 1965, Lucien Hervé est alors reconnu comme l’un des plus grands photographes d’architecture. Il collabore avec les architectes Alvar Aalto et Oscar Niemeyer, il est connu pour ses très belles images de Chandigarh, Brasília ou du Thoronet. Mais il photographie aussi les grands chantiers parisiens, du siège de l’Unesco à la pyramide de Louvre. Parmi ses dernières photographies sont celles de son appartement parisien. Durant sa carrière de soixante ans il a eu de nombreuses publications et expositions dans des galeries et des musées à travers le monde. » 

Virginie Chardin

Plus d’informations

© Lucien Hervé

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris