AGENDA

Agenda

La Librairie

Tuesday 12, July 2022

Concert Brooklyn Orchestra

Learn more

La Librairie

Saturday June 18, 2022

Launching & signing of the book “Vandals in Paris” by Antoine Flandrin & Thomas Von Wittich

Learn more

La Librairie

Wednesday, May 25 2022

Album release and signing session| Mitzpah & Loulou Picasso

Learn more

PROGRAM

TICKETS

CLAIRE NICOLET & VALENTIN RANGER

From June, 10 until July, 24 2022

Opening on Thursday, June 9 2022 ; 6-9 p.m.

HETEROTOPIAS

By Matthieu Jacquet


“Heterotopias always presuppose a system of opening and closing that both isolates them and makes them penetrable”

Michel Foucault


In March 1967, Michel Foucault formulates for the first time the concept of “heterotopia” to indicate, by distinction of the utopias, all the real spaces external and public intermediate and indefinable crossed by the human being, “kinds of places out of all the places” extending from the sacred buildings to the cemeteries by way of the movie theaters. If the French philosopher does not quote then any work to exemplify his subject, his neologism – formed from the Greek terms heteros (other) and topos (space) – could also include the artistic creations of which the public makes the real experience, sensory, spatio-temporal even emotional. For in the course of the respective practices of young French artists Claire Nicolet and Valentin Ranger, whom the Galerie du Jour brings together for two months in a four-handed exhibition, it is indeed hundreds of “other spaces” that we encounter, deployed through various mediums and techniques and surprising forms – not to say confusing.

A graduate of the Estienne school and then of the Beaux-Arts in Paris, Claire Nicolet immediately made space the heart of her graphic and pictorial practice. During her wanderings on foot in the city and the countryside, the artist scans the landscape from the ground to the sky before stopping on details, which will resurface on the sheets of the notebooks she has been keeping for years: identical road signs that line the bend of a road, symmetrical alignments of blinds that structure buildings of the 70s, or the ground paved harmoniously with stones in the center of which sits a rock, like a pagan altar… All gathered in a series appropriately named Topoï, these ultra fine and precise drawings realized – sometimes very spontaneously – with black ink and punctually colored by gouache, sketch fragments of worlds devoid of living beings and explicit narrative frames, opening their spectators to the projection of intimately personal stories. Four years ago, this graphic practice extended from paper to canvas, where the strangeness of these “species of spaces” is supported by the liveliness, the contrast of the colors painted with acrylics and by the size of the formats, which can measure up to more than a meter wide. “The heterotopia has the power to juxtapose in a single real place several spaces, several locations that are in themselves incompatible,” said Foucault, citing the public garden as the supreme example of this principle. Central to Claire Nicolet’s work, the garden invites ambiguity into her fantasized landscapes – which some might describe as idyllic – through skillful games of proportion: If the perspective of the asphalt paths or the alignment of the bricks, his favorite motif, seem to respect the fundamental mathematical principles of the real places that inspire them, what about the immense exotic plants with their tenfold size, which overflow from their containers or emerge from the façades, until they completely overhang them? Assembled from pieces of many different spaces, these compositions make their origins all the more difficult to define. While her works evoke to some the paintings of Douanier Rousseau by their fauna, or to others those of Giorgio de Chirico by their deprivation, the young woman plays with the history of art, representing for example with great precision the arches of the famous Annunciation of the convent of San Marco by Fra Angelico on a canvas, now emptied of its two biblical actors.

To the purity, the immobility and the inflexible structure of Claire Nicolet’s works, Valentin Ranger responds with the Dionysian abundance of his own. Where the former depicts with a certain distance and frontality exterior spaces from which the human seems to have disappeared, the latter immerses the spectator in the heart of interior worlds that infiltrate right under the epidermis, where hybrid and colored bodies cohabit, intermingle and even belch in scenes of orgiastic pleasure. Having first studied theater, this current student of the Beaux-Arts de Paris has transposed his sense of staging to his multidisciplinary practice, guided by an ambitious goal: the creation of a multi-media opera, mobilizing drawings, sculptures, 3D videos and even soundtracks, where the physical and the digital, the two-dimensional and the three-dimensional, the frozen image and the moving one, would unite to play the jubilant symphony of a fertile world in constant transformation. In the corpus of the prolific artist, who presents here a hundred drawings and ex-votos in aluminum, some pastel-colored ceramics with heart-shaped faces and three films on screens, no element counts more than another – it is precisely from this profusion that emerges all the power of his “other spaces”, which the spectator will have to penetrate in order to feel it by himself. Among the types of heterotopias enumerated by Michel Foucault, the philosopher lingered on those bound “to the time in what it has of more futile, of more temporary, of more precarious, and that on the mode of the festival. (…) of the heterotopias no more eternal, but absolutely chronic.” There is indeed something festive and of at Valentin Ranger, in these colored and saturated drawings of bodies in fusion, or in these crossings to 360° of virtual rooms between Edenic gardens and dance floors, whose anthropomorphic creatures vibrate to the pulsations of an undetermined organism. For all that, these parties without beginning or end have, in the eyes of the artist, nothing futile or ephemeral: by building these dreamlike havens, the young man makes these beings exist in eternity, writing in the course of his works the epic of a community where the marginal and/or invisible populations of our society – sexual or gender minorities, or even HIV-positive people – would live together in harmony.

At first glance, everything opposes the practices of Claire Nicolet and Valentin Ranger. But beyond the apparent divergences, it is their points of convergence, more numerous than they appear, that make this face to face encounter so accurate. The antinomy between the absence of the living being in favor of the landscape in the first, and its abundance in the second, to the point of making its environment pass in the background, are in fact just as fallacious. Discreet, the human being is no less present in the works of Claire Nicolet, whose buildings, windows and door frames were all conceived according to the dimensions of our species, which the invasive vegetation depicted seems to encourage to humility. As for Valentin Ranger’s spaces, they count as much as the bodies in that they plunge the public into his dense imagination, deployed from the surface of the paper to that of the video screen. In their most recent works, moreover, both artists saturate their medium in their own way: despite the impression of emptiness often felt in front of Claire Nicolet’s paintings, for example, it would be very difficult to find a space not covered by the material. Just before citing the garden, Claire Nicolet’s constant obsession, as a type of heterotopia where several spaces can coexist, Michel Foucault gave the other example of theater scenes and their transformative capacity, allowing new spaces to constantly follow one another… just like the various situations simultaneously represented by Valentin Ranger in his material and virtual creations. The exhibition joyfully plays with these underlying dialogues to the point of inviting the young visual artists, both assiduous archivists of their practices, to expose their experiments in the gallery space. Along one wall hang dozens of sketches, words and sentences scribbled on A4 sheets by Valentin Ranger, original stages of his research revealed here for the first time, while on a table are arranged small assemblages in colored volume by Claire Nicolet, a space she will make her workbench during the exhibition.

In sum, the practices of both artists come together in the expression of a dream, each component of which emerges from a personal and collective unconscious. By their immobility and their non-events, the places depicted by Claire Nicolet attract the interest of a spectator, curious to know what hides these familiar frames and partitions. The scopic impulse thus awakened can then be satisfied, not to say shaken, in front of the raw and uninhibited scenes of Valentin Ranger, conductor of a poetic-organic meeting of bodies… to the point that one would like to imagine these visceral interiors shuddering and dripping behind the seemingly hermetic and smooth facades of his colleague. If Michel Foucault had not mentioned any work of art during his 1967 conference, he declared all the same how much certain heterotopias have “for role to create a space of illusion which denounces as more illusory still all the real space, all the places inside which the human life is cloistered.” Where Claire Nicolet wishes that her paintings “soothe the anguish of the tangible world by their zones of silence” and rebalance it thanks to a form of aesthetic harmony, Valentin Ranger seizes, on the contrary, the instability and the chaos of our unequal societies to give back their place to the left-behind, building thus a protean ecosystem based on balances of which the reality deprived us. Such is the common ambition of the “heterotopias” imagined by these two artists: to transform realities sometimes suffocating to generate new regimes of existence, whose aesthetic experience would help, with hope, to better apprehend the afflictions of our contemporary world.

1. Michel Foucault, “Des espaces autres”, conference to the Circle of architectural studies, March 14, 1967, published in Architecture, Movement, Continuity, no 5 (1984).

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris

AGENDA

Agenda

La Librairie

Dimanche 23 Octobre 2022

MelmAcHello : « Le cas très inquiétant de ton cri »

En savoir plus

La Librairie

Jeudi 27 Octobre 2022

LANCEMENT | COLLECTION CAPTURE AUX ÉDITIONS HARTPON

En savoir plus

La Librairie

Mercredi 26 Octobre 2022

Présentation de l’ouvrage monographique « Fils2Cultes » de l’artiste Tony Regazzoni

En savoir plus

VOIR TOUTE LA PROGRAMMATION

BILLETERIE

CLAIRE NICOLET & VALENTIN RANGER

Du 10 juin au 24 juillet 2022

Vernissage le jeudi 9 juin de 18 à 21h

HÉTÉROTOPIES

Un texte de Matthieu Jacquet


“Les hétérotopies supposent toujours un système d’ouverture et de fermeture qui, à la fois, les isole et les rend pénétrable”

Michel Foucault


En mars 1967, Michel Foucault formule pour la première fois le concept d’“héterotopie” pour désigner, par distinction des utopies, tous les espaces réels extérieurs et publics intermédiaires et indéfinissables traversés par l’être humain, “sortes de lieux hors de tous les lieux” s’étendant des édifices sacrés aux cimetières en passant par les salles de cinéma. Si le philosophe français ne cite alors aucune œuvre pour exemplifier son propos, son néologisme – formé à partir des termes grecs heteros (autre) et topos (espace) – pourrait également englober les créations artistiques dont le public fait l’expérience réelle, sensorielle, spatio-temporelle voire émotionnelle. Car au fil des pratiques respectives des jeunes artistes français Claire Nicolet et Valentin Ranger, que la galerie du jour réunit pendant deux mois dans une exposition à quatre mains, ce sont bien des centaines d’ “espaces autres” que l’on rencontre, déployés à travers des médiums et techniques variés et des formes étonnantes – pour ne pas dire déroutantes.

Diplômée de l’école Estienne puis des Beaux-Arts de Paris, Claire Nicolet a immédiatement fait de l’espace le cœur de sa pratique graphique et picturale. Au gré de ses pérégrinations à pied dans la ville comme la campagne, l’artiste balaie le paysage du sol jusqu’au ciel avant de s’arrêter sur des détails, qui resurgiront sur les feuilles des carnets qu’elle tient depuis des années : panneaux de signalisation identiques qui jalonnent le virage d’une route, alignements symétriques de stores qui structurent des immeubles des années 70, ou encore sol pavé harmonieusement de pierres  au centre duquel trône un rocher, tel un autel païen… Tous réunis dans une série baptisée adéquatement Topoï, ces dessins ultra fins et précis réalisés – parfois très spontanément – à l’encre noire et ponctuellement colorés par la gouache, esquissent des fragments de mondes dépourvus d’êtres vivants et de trames narratives explicites, ouvrant leurs spectateurs à la projection d’histoires intimement personnelles. Il y a quatre ans, cette pratique graphique s’étend du papier à la toile, où l’étrangeté de ces “espèces d’espaces” se voit appuyée par la vivacité, le contraste des couleurs peintes à l’acrylique et par la grandeur des formats, qui peuvent mesurer jusqu’à plus d’un mètre de large. “L’hétérotopie a le pouvoir de juxtaposer en un seul lieu réel plusieurs espaces, plusieurs emplacements qui sont en eux-mêmes incompatibles”, déclarait Foucault, en citant le jardin public comme exemple suprême de ce principe. Central dans l’œuvre de Claire Nicolet, le jardin invite l’ambiguïté dans ses paysages fantasmés – que d’aucuns pourraient qualifier d’idylliques — grâce à d’habiles jeux de proportions : si la perspective des chemins en bitume ou l’alignement des briques, son motif fétiche, semblent respecter les principes mathématiques fondamentaux à l’image des lieux réels qui les inspirent, qu’en est-il des immenses plantes exotiques à la taille décuplée, qui débordent de leurs bacs ou émergent des façades, jusqu’à les surplomber complètement ? Assemblées d’après des morceaux de nombreux espaces divers, ces compositions rendent leurs origines d’autant plus difficile à définir. Pendant que ses œuvres évoquent à certain·e·s les toiles du Douanier Rousseau par leur faune, ou à d’autres celles de Giorgio de Chirico par leur dénuement, la jeune femme s’amuse avec l’histoire de l’art, représentant par exemple avec une grande précision les arches de la fameuse Annonciation du couvent de San Marco de Fra Angelico sur une toile, désormais vidée de ses deux acteurs bibliques.

À l’épurement, l’immobilité et à l’inflexible structure des œuvres de Claire Nicolet, Valentin Ranger répond par le foisonnement dionysiaque assumé des siennes. Là où la première dépeint avec une certaine distance et frontalité des espaces extérieurs dont l’humain semble avoir disparu, le second immerge le spectateur au cœur de mondes intérieurs qui s’infiltrent jusqu’en-dessous de l’épiderme, où des corps hybrides et colorés cohabitent, s’imbriquent voire éructent dans des scènes de jouissance orgiaques. Passé d’abord par un cursus théâtral, cet actuel étudiant des Beaux-Arts de Paris a transposé son sens de la mise en scène à sa pratique pluridisciplinaire, guidée par un but ambitieux : la création d’un opéra multi-médias, mobilisant dessins, sculptures, vidéos 3D et même bandes sonores, où le physique et le numérique, le bidimensionnel et le tridimensionnel, l’image figée et celle en mouvement, s’uniraient pour jouer la symphonie jubilatoire d’un monde fertile en constante transformation. Dans le corpus de l’artiste prolifique, qui présente ici une centaine de dessins et d’ex-votos en aluminium, quelques céramiques couleur pastel à l’effigie de visages en forme de cœur et trois films sur écrans, aucun élément ne compte plus qu’un autre – c’est précisément de cette profusion qu’émerge toute la puissance de ses “espaces autres”, que le spectateur devra pénétrer afin de la ressentir par lui-même. Parmi les types d’hétérotopies énumérées par Michel Foucault, le philosophe s’attardait sur celles liées “au temps dans ce qu’il a de plus futile, de plus passager, de plus précaire, et cela sur le mode de la fête. (…) des hétérotopies non plus éternitaires, mais absolument chroniques.” Il y a en effet quelque chose de festif et de chez Valentin Ranger, dans ces dessins colorés et saturés de corps en fusion, ou dans ces traversées à 360° de salles virtuelles entre jardins édéniques et pistes de danse, dont les créatures anthropomorphes vibrent aux pulsations d’un organisme indéterminé. Pour autant, ces fêtes sans début ni fin n’ont, aux yeux de l’artiste, rien de futile ni d’éphémère : en leur construisant ces havres de paix oniriques, le jeune homme fait exister ces êtres dans l’éternité, écrivant au fil de ses œuvres l’épopée d’une communauté où les populations marginales et/ou invisibles de notre société – minorités sexuelles, de genre, ou encore personnes séropositives – vivraient ensemble en harmonie.

À première vue, tout oppose les pratiques de Claire Nicolet et Valentin Ranger. Mais au-delà des apparentes divergences, ce sont ici leurs points de convergence, plus nombreux qu’ils n’y paraissent, qui font toute la justesse de ce face à face. L’antinomie entre absence de l’être vivant au profit du paysage chez la première, et son abondance chez le second, au point de faire passer son environnement à l’arrière-plan, sont en fait tout aussi fallacieux. Discret, l’humain n’en est pas moins présent dans les œuvres de Claire Nicolet, dont les immeubles, fenêtres et autres encadrements de portes ont tous été conçus d’après les dimensions de notre espèce, que l’envahissante végétation dépeinte semble inciter à l’humilité. Quant aux espaces chez Valentin Ranger, ils comptent autant que les corps en ce qu’ils plongent le public dans son imaginaire touffu, déployé de la surface du papier à celle de l’écran vidéo. Dans leurs œuvres les plus récentes, d’ailleurs, les deux artistes saturent chacun à leur manière leur support : malgré l’impression de vide souvent ressentie devant les peintures de Claire Nicolet, par exemple, il serait bien difficile d’y trouver un espace non recouvert par la matière. Juste avant de citer le jardin, constante obsession de Claire Nicolet, comme type d’hétérotopie où plusieurs espaces peuvent coexister, Michel Foucault donnait l’autre exemple des scènes de théâtre et leur capacité transformative, permettant sans cesse à de nouveaux espaces de s’y succéder… à l’image des diverses situations simultanément représentées par Valentin Ranger dans ses créations matérielles et virtuelles. L’exposition s’amuse joyeusement de ces dialogues sous-jacents jusqu’à inviter les jeunes plasticiens, tous deux archivistes assidus de leurs pratiques, à mettre à nu leurs expérimentations dans l’espace de la galerie. Le long d’un mur sont accrochés des dizaines de croquis, mots et phrases griffonnés sur feuilles A4 par Valentin Ranger, étapes originelles de ses recherches dévoilées ici pour la première fois, tandis que sur une table sont disposés de petits assemblages en volume colorés de Claire Nicolet, espace dont elle fera son établi pendant la durée de l’exposition.

En somme, les pratiques des deux artistes se rejoignent dans l’expression d’un rêve dont chaque composante émerge d’un inconscient personnel et collectif. Par leur immobilité et leur non-événements, les lieux dépeints par Claire Nicolet attisent l’intérêt d’un spectateur, curieux de savoir ce que cachent ces cadres et cloisons familiers. La pulsion scopique ainsi éveillée peut alors se trouver satisfaite, pour ne pas dire bousculée, devant les scènes crues et sans taboues de Valentin Ranger, chef d’orchestre d’une rencontre poético-organique des corps… au point qu’on se plairait à imaginer ces intérieurs viscéraux frémir et dégouliner derrière les façades d’apparence hermétiques et sans bavures de sa consœur. Si Michel Foucault n’avait mentionné aucune œuvre d’art lors de sa conférence de 1967, il déclarait tout de même combien certaines hétérotopies ont “pour rôle de créer un espace d’illusion qui dénonce comme plus illusoire encore tout l’espace réel, tous les emplacements à l’intérieur desquels la vie humaine est cloisonnée.” Là où Claire Nicolet souhaite que ses peintures “apaisent l’angoisse du monde tangible par leurs zones de silence” et le rééquilibrent grâce à une forme d’harmonie esthétique, Valentin Ranger s’empare, au contraire, de l’instabilité et du chaos de nos sociétés inégalitaires pour redonner leur place aux laissé·e·s pour compte, bâtissant ainsi un écosystème protéiforme fondé sur des équilibres dont le réel nous a privés. Telle est l’ambition commune des “hétérotopies” imaginées par ces deux artistes : transformer des réalités parfois suffocantes pour générer de nouveaux régimes d’existence, dont l’expérience esthétique aiderait, avec espoir, à mieux appréhender les affres de notre monde contemporain.

1. Michel Foucault, “Des espaces autres”, conférence au Cercle d’études architecturales, 14 mars 1967, publié dans Architecture, Mouvement, Continuité, no 5 (1984).

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris