AGENDA

Agenda

La Collection

Du 16 septembre au 24 odécembre 2022

POETRY IN THE AGNÈS B. COLLECTION

Learn more

La Librairie

Tuesday 12, July 2022

Concert Brooklyn Orchestra

Learn more

La Librairie

Saturday June 18, 2022

Launching & signing of the book “Vandals in Paris” by Antoine Flandrin & Thomas Von Wittich

Learn more

PROGRAM

TICKETS

On the road :

ANOTHER WORLD///IN OUR WORLD at F.R.A.C.Grand Large, Dunkerque

A CONTEMPORARY EVOCATION OF FANTASTIC REALISM

Group show at F.R.A.C. Grand Large in partnership with the agnès b. endowment fund.

Sept. 19, 2020 – Aug. 29, 2021

© Vortex Graphik, 2019

Curator: Jean-François Sanz – agnès b. endowment fund

With works by : Boris Achour, Véronique Béland, Yoan Beliard, Abdelkader Benchamma, Santiago Borja, Rémi Bragard, Vincent Ceraudo, Emma Charrin & Olivier Muller, Alexis Choplain, Arnauld Colcomb & Bertrand Planes, David De Beyter, David Droubaix, Veaceslav Druta, Éric Duyckaerts, Jean-Louis Faure, Nicolas Floc’h, Yona Friedman, GENERAL IDEA, Norbert Ghisoland, Jean Gourmelin, Rodney Graham, Giulia Grossmann, Martin Gusinde, Jackson, Louis Jammes, Magdalena Jetelová, Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis, Véronique Joumard, Emmanuelle K., Bertrand Lamarche, Eva L’Hoest, Barbara & Michael Leisgen, Augustin Lesage, Pierre Mazingarbe, Corey McCorkle, Pierre Mercier, Jean-Louis Montigone, Gianni Motti, NASA, Dennis Oppenheim, Jean-Michel Othoniel, Adrian Paci, Trevor Paglen, PANAMARENKO, Abraham Poincheval, Enrique Ramirez, George Reavey, Gwendoline Robin, Lucien Rudaux, Bettina Samson, Dennis Stock, Anaïs Tondeur, Agnès Troublé dite agnès b., João Vieira Torres, Gilberto Zorio

«At the cosmic end of the scale, only the fantastic has a chance of being true»

Pierre Teilhard de Chardin’s proposition, expounded in the mid-20th century, constitutes an excellent introduction to that other world nestling within our world, to which the title of the exhibition makes reference.

ANOTHER WORLD///IN OUR WORLD examines every aspect of our relationship to reality through numerous fields of creation and knowledge, at the intersection of science, tradition, fantasy, science fiction and, finally, reality. The exhibition revives a quest for knowledge that aims to transcend the apparent contradiction between materialism and spiritualism, at the crossroads of art and technology, alchemy and anthropology, erudition and popular culture, esotericism and quantum physics, the attested and the imaginary.

Revolving around the notion of fantastic realism, which it aspires to bring to new audiences and revitalize, in line with Louis Pauwels & Jacques Bergier’s book The Morning of the Magicians (1960), and its spinoff magazine Planète, ANOTHER WORLD///IN OUR WORLD aims to demonstrate that the fantastic can reside at the heart of the real, and that sometimes it only takes a slight change of perspective on the world around us to perceive it in all its strangeness. Inaugurated in 2016, this project has taken the form of a hybrid, constantly evolving event that is part-traveling group show, part-seminar, and part-laboratory of epistemological experimentation. The point of the project is to bring this major movement of 1960s counter-culture out of the shadows into the spotlight, and to reestablish the underground echo of its signature themes in multiple fields of contemporary creation.

The first edition of this uncommon project took place in 2016 at la Galerie du Jour agnès b., as well as La Maison de la Poésie and Centre Wallonie-Bruxelles in Paris. A second edition was held at Halles Saint-Géry, Brussels, in early 2018, and a third at F.R.A.C. Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Marseille, in spring 2019, with content that was considerably refreshed for each events. This latest edition, in Dunkirk, at the invitation of F.R.A.C. Grand Large is, therefore, the fourth and one of the most plentiful and ambitious so far, including the works of numerous new artists, many of whom come from the collections of F.R.AC. Grand Large and F.R.AC. Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.

To coincide with the new iteration of the exhibition in Dunkirk, the second volume of the ANOTHER WORLD///IN OUR WORLD catalogue will be published by the agnès b. Endowment fund and Supernova Editions.

 

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris

AGENDA

Agenda

La Galerie

14 septembre - 28 octobre 2017

Harmony Korine

En savoir plus

La Galerie

2 juin - 16 juillet 2016

Un autre monde dans notre monde – Collectif

En savoir plus

La Galerie

16 septembre - 22 octobre 2016

Résonances – Claire Chesnier Etienne de Fleurieu

En savoir plus

VOIR TOUTE LA PROGRAMMATION

BILLETERIE

Hors les murs :

UN AUTRE MONDE///DANS NOTRE MONDE au F.R.A.C. Grand Large, Dunkerque

UN ÉVOCATION CONTEMPORAINE DU RÉALISME FANTASTIQUE

© Vortex Graphik, 2019

Exposition collective au F.R.A.C. Grand Large, en partenariat avec le Fonds de dotation agnès b.

19.09.2020 – 14.03.2021

Commissaire : Jean-François Sanz – Fonds de dotation agnès b.

Avec les œuvres de : Boris Achour, Véronique Béland, Yoan Beliard, Abdelkader Benchamma, Santiago Borja, Rémi Bragard, Vincent Ceraudo, Emma Charrin & Olivier Muller, Alexis Choplain, Arnauld Colcomb & Bertrand Planes, David De Beyter, David Droubaix, Veaceslav Druta, Éric Duyckaerts, Jean-Louis Faure, Nicolas Floc’h, Yona Friedman, GENERAL IDEA, Norbert Ghisoland, Jean Gourmelin, Rodney Graham, Giulia Grossmann, Martin Gusinde, Jackson, Louis Jammes, Magdalena Jetelová, Ismaël Joffroy Chandoutis, Véronique Joumard, Emmanuelle K., Bertrand Lamarche, Eva L’Hoest, Barbara & Michael Leisgen, Augustin Lesage, Pierre Mazingarbe, Corey McCorkle, Pierre Mercier, Jean-Louis Montigone, Gianni Motti, NASA, Dennis Oppenheim, Jean-Michel Othoniel, Adrian Paci, Trevor Paglen, PANAMARENKO, Abraham Poincheval, Enrique Ramirez, George Reavey, Gwendoline Robin, Lucien Rudaux, Bettina Samson, Dennis Stock, Anaïs Tondeur, Agnès Troublé dite agnès b., João Vieira Torres, Gilberto Zorio.

«À l’échelle du cosmique, seul le fantastique a des chances d’être vrai»

Ce postulat énoncé par Teilhard de Chardin au milieu du XXème siècle constitue une excellente entrée en matière pour accéder à cet autre monde, niché à l’intérieur de notre monde, auquel le titre de cette exposition fait référence. 

UN AUTRE MONDE///DANS NOTRE MONDE questionne en effet tous azimuts notre rapport au réel à travers de nombreux secteurs de la création et de la connaissance, aux frontières de la science, de la tradition, du fantastique, de la science-fiction et, in fine, du réel. L’exposition ravive en effet une quête de savoir visant à dépasser l’apparente contradiction entre matérialisme et spiritualisme, aux croisements de l’art et de la technologie, de l’alchimie et de l’anthropologie, de l’érudition et de la culture populaire, de l’ésotérisme et de la physique quantique, de l’avéré et de l’imaginaire. 

Centré autour de la notion de réalisme fantastique, qu’il ambitionne de faire redécouvrir et de réactiver, dans la lignée de l’ouvrage de Louis Pauwels et Jacques Bergier paru en 1960, Le Matin des magiciens, et de la revue Planète, à laquelle ce dernier a donné naissance, UN AUTRE MONDE///DANS NOTRE MONDE  vise entre autres à nous faire prendre conscience que le fantastique peut résider au cœur-même du réel et qu’il suffit parfois d’opérer un subtil décalage du regard que l’on porte sur notre environnement pour le percevoir dans toute son étrangeté. Ce projet, initié en 2016, a pris la forme d’un événement hybride en perpétuelle évolution, entre l’exposition collective itinérante, le colloque et le laboratoire d’expérimentation épistémologique. L’objet de ce projet étant de remettre en lumière ce mouvement majeur de la contre-culture des 60’s, largement occulté aujourd’hui, ainsi que de mettre en évidence l’écho souterrain de ses thématiques de prédilection dans de multiples domaines de la création contemporaine. 

La première édition de ce projet atypique a eu lieu en 2016 à la galerie du jour agnès b. ainsi qu’à la Maison de la poésie et au Centre Wallonie Bruxelles, à Paris. Une deuxième édition de l’événement s’est déroulée début 2018 aux Halles Saint-Géry, à Bruxelles, et une troisième a eu lieu au F.R.A.C. Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, à Marseille, au printemps 2019, avec à chaque fois un contenu en grande partie renouvelé pour l’occasion. Cette nouvelle version de l’exposition à Dunkerque, à l’invitation du F.R.A.C. Grand Large, est donc la quatrième et, à ce jour, l’une des plus riches et des plus ambitieuses, intégrant les travaux de nombreux nouveaux artistes, dont beaucoup sont issus de la collection des F.R.A.C. Grand Large et Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. 

A l’occasion de cette nouvelle version de l’exposition à Dunkerque, le tome 2 du catalogue UN AUTRE MONDE///DANS NOTRE MONDE sera publié en coédition Fonds de dotation agnès b. – Supernova Editions.

Télécharger le communiqué de presse de l’exposition

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris