AGENDA

Agenda

La Galerie

June 2nd - July 16th, 2016

Un autre monde dans notre monde – Collectif

Learn more

PROGRAM

TICKETS

The discoveries of André Magnin

Seyni Awa Camara / Amadou Sanogo / Ana Silva

also featuring

Frédéric Bruly Bouabré / J.D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere / Seydou Keïta / Malick Sidibé

Vive l’Afrique!! is an opportunity for agnès b. to introduce the public to some to the artists discovered by André Magnin and represented by the gallery MAGNIN-A. Testifying to her active support of African art over twenty-five years, agnès b. exhibits an eclectic panorama of contemporary creation on the African continent.

Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, observes the world and produces drawings redolent of daily life, which enabled him to fulfill his dream of entering the “Pantheon of Picasso”. Seyni Awa Camara, raises from the earth maternal, feminine sculptures, creations inspired by her dreams and the spirits that inhabit her. Seydou Keïta, a master of studio photography, gives us portraits of immense beauty, a sober look at Malian society in the mid-twentieth century. A few years later, the off-the-cuff photography of Malick Sidibé speaks to the freedom and modernity driving the younger generation in Bamako at the dawn of independence. In his Hairstyles series, J.D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere records the styles of Nigeria, from simplest to most sophisticated. This absolutely unique body of work has its place in photography, fashion and ethnography and, quite simply, in art. The symbolic and figurative paintings of Amadou Sanogo, suffused with light and with the oral, popular tradition, denounce the political practices of the governing elite. Ana Silva‘s aesthetic is a story delicately hinted at behind lace and embroideries where feminine figures—the memories of intimate stories and familiar faces—are revealed.

This exhibition is the fruit of the long-standing friendship between agnès b. and André Magnin, the co-curator in 1989 of the exhibition Magiciens de la Terre (Magicians of the Earth), who continued to initiate agnès b. into the contemporary art of the African continent.

In 2005, at Galerie du jour, the first iteration of Vive l’Afrique!! was held, already featuring the work of Malick Sidibé, Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, J.D. ‘Okhai Okeijere and Seydou Keita. It was in 1999 that agnès b. had first shown signed and dated contemporary prints by Malick Sidibé and Seydou Keita.

André Magnin worked on multiple exhibitions at La Galerie du Jour agnès b.: in 2010, he curated the Frédéric Bruly Bouabré retrospective; in 2011, in collaboration with Frank André Jamme, Abhay Maskara and Hervé Perdriolle, André Magnin curated the (M)other India exhibition; in 2016, agnès b. invited André Magnin to create a dialogue between the work of photographer Omar Victor Diop and the photography of Malick Sidibé.

Alongside Vive l’Afrique!!, André Magnin has invited agnès b. to exhibit on his walls. While Fabrice Monteiro will show his complete series Signares for the first time, agnès b. will put on view eighty images from the Drôlesses series, from May 28, 2021, at the gallery Magnin-A.


Galerie du Jour, Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris.

Tuesday-Saturday ; 11:00-7:00 p.m.

Last entrance at 6 p.m.

Free entrance in the respect of the sanitary rules

Exhibition from May 21st until July 24th 2021.

More information


La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris

AGENDA

Agenda

La Galerie

14 septembre - 28 octobre 2017

Harmony Korine

En savoir plus

La Galerie

2 juin - 16 juillet 2016

Un autre monde dans notre monde – Collectif

En savoir plus

La Galerie

16 septembre - 22 octobre 2016

Résonances – Claire Chesnier Etienne de Fleurieu

En savoir plus

VOIR TOUTE LA PROGRAMMATION

BILLETERIE

Les découvertes d’André Magnin

Seyni Awa Camara / Amadou Sanogo / Ana Silva

et aussi

Frédéric Bruly Bouabré / J.D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere / Seydou Keïta / Malick Sidibé

Vive l’Afrique !! est l’occasion pour agnès b. de présenter au public quelques-uns des artistes révélés par André Magnin et représentés par la galerie MAGNIN-A. Témoignage de son soutien actif à l’art africain depuis 25 ans, agnès b. nous donne à voir un panorama hétérogène de la création contemporaine du continent africain.

Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, observe le monde et livre des dessins relevés au quotidien comme autant de “Connaissances du Monde” qui lui ont permis de rentrer, comme il l’avait rêvé, « au Panthéon de Picasso ». Seyni Awa Camara, fait surgir de la terre des sculptures féminines et maternelles, inventions inspirées parses rêves et les esprits qui l’habitent. Seydou Keïta, maître de la photographie de studio, offre des portraits d’une grande beauté, un regard solennel sur la société malienne du milieu du XXème siècle ; quelques années plus tard, les instantanés de Malick Sidibé témoignent de la liberté et de la modernité animant toute la jeune génération de Bamako à l’aube de l’indépendance. J.D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere, archive dans sa série Hairstyles les coiffures du Nigéria, des plus simples aux plus sophistiquées. Cette oeuvre absolument unique trouve sa place tout à la fois dans la photographie, dans la mode, dans l’ethnographie… tout simplement dans l’art. Les peintures figuratives et symboliques d’Amadou Sanogo, empreintes de lumière, de culture orale et populaire, dénoncent les pratiques politiques du pouvoir. L’esthétique d’Ana Silva est une histoire délicatement suggérée derrière les dentelles et les broderies où se dévoilent des figures féminines, souvenirs d’histoires intimes et de visages familiers.

Cette exposition est le fruit d’une amitié de longue date entre agnès b. et André Magnin, commissaire-adjoint, en 1989, de l’exposition Magiciens de la Terre, et qui, à partir de cette date, initie agnès b. à l’art contemporain du continent africain.

C’est en 2005 à la Galerie du Jour qu’a lieu la première version de Vive l’Afrique !!, avec, à l’époque déjà, le travail des artistes Malick Sidibé, Frédéric Bruly Bouabré, J.D. ‘Okhai Ojeikere et Seydou Keita que la galerie n’a cessés de représenter.

André Magnin a collaboré à plusieurs expositions à la Galerie du Jour agnès b. : en 2010, il est le commissaire de la rétrospective Frédéric Bruly Bouabré ; en 2011, avec la complicité de Franck André Jamme, Abhay Maskara et Hervé Perdriolle, André Magnin est le commissaire de l’exposition (M)other India; en 2016, agnès b. invite André Magnin à faire dialoguer le travail du photographe Omar Victor Diop avec les photographies de Malick Sidibé.

Parallèlement à Vive l’Afrique !!, André Magnin invite agnès b. à exposer dans ses murs. En même temps que Fabrice Monteiro présentera pour la première fois et en totalité sa série Signares, agnès b dévoilera 80 images de la série Drôlesses qui ouvrira ses portes à la galerie MAGNIN-A, le 28 mai 2021.


La galerie du jour, Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, Paris 13.

Du mardi au samedi, 11h00-19h00.

Dernière entrée à 18h00.

Entrée libre et gratuite dans le respect des normes sanitaires en vigueur.

Exposition du 21 mai au 24 juillet 2021.

Plus d’informations


Vues d’exposition © Rebecca Fanuele

La Fab.

Place Jean-Michel Basquiat, 75013 Paris